Little Orange Riding Hood #sol16

I spotted the coat a few years ago, during our after-school monthly visit to “The Mother Ship”, as Tanya, Amanda and I had fondly dubbed the Harvard slice of lifeSquare Anthropologie. Anthro is a women’s clothing, accessories, and home-goods store that fits a very “upscale boho chic” lifestyle. I love it. Give me a (very high) budget and a couple of hours in an Anthro store, and I will do. some. damage. (Mostly to my bank account. The store is admittedly — sometimes absurdly — overpriced.)

This is why I almost exclusively shop Anthro’s sale section. This particular white coat, with a faux fur lined hood and oversized swing style, had been one I coveted when it was full-price, over $150. Now, marked down to the “insanely” low price of $59.99, it was in reach. There was only one problem: the white jacket was only available in XS. I would need size M. And that size was only available in nuclear-bright, hunter’s orange.

I perseverated. “What do you think?” I asked Tanya and Amanda, my shopping partners and style gurus, obsessively over the next 15 minutes. They both liked the way it looked on me. They suggested I get it. I stalled, wandering around all three floors of the store with it slung over my arm. I didn’t have a good mid-weight, casual jacket; it was the right price; I liked the overall style, if not the color; orange would be easier to keep clean than the white cotton canvas would have been. What to do, what to do…

In the end, I purchased the jacket, and it was seriously one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. Since then, whenever I wear it, I am bound to get complimented. I can always find mine in the piles of coats on someone’s bed at a party. I am very noticeable in a crowd. It fit when I was pregnant, and even zipped up over the both of us when K was a newborn and I would wear him in the baby carrier.  Sometimes I feel I’ve one-upped Holden Caulfield: I have a people-hunting jacket! (Editor’s note: I’ve never been hunting and don’t like guns.)

Although I haven’t KonMari’d my life, I know that a major part of Marie Kondo’s “Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up” is to ask if an item brings you joy. I can safely say that YES, my beautifully bright hunter’s orange jacket brings me an immense amount of joy. Sometimes, it’s the little things in life.

IMG_0006

7 thoughts on “Little Orange Riding Hood #sol16

  1. OMG I don’t allow myself into Anthropologie anymore; it’s too dangerous! The color is perfect for you. And this makes me miss Ms. Hughes talking about her Anthropologie addiction… putting things on hold just to think about whether or not she really wanted to part with her $$$, haha! I love the title of this piece.

    Like

  2. Yes! You made the right decision, and it has brought you joy! It has even brought your son warmth! And you got in on sale!

    Like

Leave a Reply

