#sol17 Need (a poem)

I need you to mean it
when you say I love you

I need to believe
that tears are holy and hopeful

not pathways of sorrow
but canals of truth carved into our skins
and loneliness is not a postage stamp
but a whole country we can visit

I stamped my passport to heartbreak
and wallowed in the shoreline
kept vigil over my lost innocence for years
before I met you
my bones brittle and built from fury

So when you say I love you
do not make it sound like another language

Be cautious for I am
romantic flame
a phoenix ready to burst into bloom
upon your false kisses
and I will arise from the ashes of your love
armed and ready for vengeance

slice of life

2 thoughts on “#sol17 Need (a poem)

Leave a Reply

