#sol17 These are a few of my favorite things…

slice of lifeIt’s been a helluva week, y’all, and it’s not even over yet. This was state testing week for our 10th graders, taking the English MCAS which is a graduation test, and it was brutal. Also, spring tryouts started this week for our student athletes, and my husband is assistant varsity coach for the baseball team, which means I’m a baseball widow for the next 10 weeks or so. I’m ahead in my planning but way behind in all my grading, and I’m late on a deadline for work for a conference I’m presenting at in May PLUS parent-teacher conferences are next week… The struggle is real.

So tonight I’m keeping it light and airy. Top 5 favorite lists, in no particular order:

Top 5 favorite shows right now:

  1. The Mindy Project
  2. Girls (which is a hate-watch)
  3. Game of Thrones
  4. tied between Black-ish and Fresh off the Boat
  5. The Handmaid’s Tale (technically not out until April 26 but that trailer is brutal and DAMN I’m q-q-quivering with anticipation…)

Top 5 favorite books to teach:

  1. The Great Gatsby (I should post a whole separate post on how I teach it, which is completely different from how I was taught and treats the book like a post-WWI PTSD moral allegory…)
  2. The Things They Carried
  3. A Raisin in the Sun
  4. The Crucible (sadly I don’t teach this anymore)
  5. Their Eyes Were Watching God
*Note: I’m currently teaching The Handmaid’s Tale so I don’t know if it’s a favorite yet. 😉

Top 5 favorite foods:

  1. Chocolate (currently in the form of Cadbury creme eggs)
  2. Wine (what, it’s a food!)
  3. Broccoli (my fave veggie)
  4. Sweet potato (2nd favorite)
  5. Really really fresh sushi/sashimi

Top 5 favorite movies from the 1980s:

  1. Sixteen Candles
  2. Legend/Labyrinth/The Neverending Story/The Dark Crystal (this is my childhood distilled into a few films)
  3. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off
  4. The Breakfast Club
  5. Raiders of the Lost Ark

Top 5 best books I’ve read recently:

  1. Girls and Sex
  2. The Queen of the Tearling (series)
  3. The Underground Railroad
  4. Everything, Everything
  5. Ready Player One (currently reading, can’t put it down)

Top 5 most-visited websites:

  1. Go Fug Yourself
  2. Jezebel
  3. Facebook
  4. Twitter
  5. Slate

That’s it. I’m probably totally forgetting some of my favorites, but I’ve blogged tonight and considering how awful this week has been, I’m counting that as a win.

5 thoughts on “#sol17 These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. Favorite things is a perfect slice to post! I think I might steal this idea and do it next week when I know I will be in the throngs of March “school”. Thanks for sharing. (in addition, I’m obsessed with binge watching Homeland right now, Claire Danes is just brilliant! And, no, I don’t watch much TV so, yes, I am very behind the times.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I must live in a parallel universe. I had to Google a bunch of your favorites! Must be generational. I did at least know of the books you teach and suffered through a local theater production of The Crucible recently. The actors were great. It’s just such a depressing story and hasn’t improved since I studied it in high school English class in the 70s.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No doubt it’s worthy. Just not a “fun” way to spend a Sunday afternoon. I left feeling like I’d been beaten. They followed it up with Who’s Afraid of Virginia Wolfe which was equally brutal. Maybe I should have opted out of season tickets this year. LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Lists are the best!! I love Cadbury eggs, though I think the mini eggs are the favorites. I will wait until spring break to have some. I make lists to feel less anxious. Reading your list also made me feel less anxious. Hope you find some ways to relax (wine, broccoli, Ready Player One sounds good. Kids LOVE it).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

