#sol17 Simple pleasures

slice of lifeThere are so many simple pleasures in life. The smell of warm bread, fresh cut grass, or sweet milky baby skin. The taste of good chocolate, good coffee, warm tea.

One of my favorite pleasures is going to the salon for a haircut – particularly, having someone else wash my hair. I don’t know why, exactly, but I immensely enjoy the sensory experience of tilting my head back into the sink, the pressure of the sprayer, the heat of the water, the spicy smell of the Aveda shampoo, and someone else’s fingers massaging my scalp.

Maybe it’s just about the change in perspective, this familiar experience that is so different from my everyday shower. Maybe it’s about the joy of being pampered, even if it’s only for a few minutes. Maybe it doesn’t matter why; isn’t that the point of simple pleasures, after all?

4 thoughts on “#sol17 Simple pleasures

Leave a Reply

